Specify Tags to Retain from Overlaid Bibs
The Bibliographic Tags Retain/Delete policy table is used to specify tags to retain from duplicate records that are overlaid.
Note:
This policy table is also used to specify tags to delete from incoming records that are saved to the database, even if the incoming records are not duplicates of existing bibliographic records in the database. For information on this process, see the Cataloging Administration Guide, "Deleting MARC Tags from Incoming Bibs."
To specify which fields to transfer automatically to the replacement record when a bibliographic record is overlaid:
Note:
These permissions are required to view and change the Bibliographic Tags Retain/Delete policy table: Access administration: Allow, Access tables: Allow and Modify Bibliographic Tags Retain/Delete: Allow
- In the Administration Explorer tree view, expand the organization’s folder.
- Expand the Policy Tables folder.
- Select Bibliographic Tags Retain/Delete.
The Bibliographic Tags Retain/Delete policy table appears.
- Click
.
The Insert: Bibliographic Tags Retain/Delete dialog box opens.
- In the Organization box, select the organization to which this entry applies.
Note:
If the Insert dialog box was opened for a branch, the branch name is the only one listed in the Organization box.
- Enter the tag number in the Tag number box tag.
- If you want all indicator values included, leave them highlighted in the Indictor 1and Indicator 2 boxes. Click an indicator to un-highlight it if you do not want it included.
- Select Retain from deleted or rejected record (occurs only when duplicate is deleted).
- Click OK to insert the tag.
- If the tag/indicator combination is already in the table, a message appears: Warning: This table already contains a retain/delete row for this tag.
- If the tag indicator/combination has already been specified as a tag to be retained, and you attempt to define it as a tag to be deleted, the following message appears: Warning: The same tag/indicator combination cannot be selected for both retention and deletion.
- Select File | Save.
Related Information
- Modify a table entry - Select an entry and click
. - Delete a table entry - Select an entry and click
.